Meta menu:

From here, you can access the Emergencies page, Contact Us page, Accessibility Settings, Language Selection, and Search page.

Open Menu

Herman group

Underpinnings of synapse diversity 

You are here:

Contact to group leader

PhD Melissa Herman

Postdoc / group leader

CCM: Campus Charité Mitte

Herman group

Astghik Abrahamyan (PhD student)

Research Focus

The Herman group aims to understand the physiological and molecular underpinnings of synaptic diversity. In particular, we compare cellular processes occurring in glutamatergic and GABAergic synapses—the fundamental units governing excitation/inhibition balance in neural networks in the CNS. The group uses a combination of electrophysiology, molecular biology, and live imaging techniques to address this topic.


Selected Publications


Orlando M, Schmitz D, Rosenmund C, Herman MA (2019) Calcium-independent exo-endocytosis coupling at small central synapses. Cell Reports:

Herman MA [corresponding author], Trimbuch T, Rosenmund C (2018) Differential pH dynamics in synaptic vesicles from intact glutamatergic and GABAergic synapses. Front Synaptic Neurosci: 10:44. doi: 10.3389/fnsyn.2018.00044

Zimmermann J*, Herman MA* [co-first author], Rosenmund C (2015) Co-release of glutamate and GABA from single vesicles in GABAergic neurons exogenously expressing VGLUT3. Front Synaptic Neurosci 7:16 doi:10.3389/fsyn.2015.00016

Herman MA, Ackermann F, Trimbuch T, Rosenmund C (2014) Vesicular glutamate transporter expression level affects release probability. J Neurosci 34:11781-11791

Chang C-L, Trimbuch T, Chao H-T, Jordan J-C, Herman MA [co-corresponding author], Rosenmund C (2014) Investigation of synapse formation and function in a glutamatergic-GABAergic two-neuron microcircuit. J Neurosci 34:855-868

Herman MA* [co-first author], Nahir B*, Jahr CE (2011) Distribution of extracellular glutamate in neuropil of hippocampus. PLoS ONE 6:e26501

Herman MA, Jahr CE (2007) Extracellular glutamate concentration in hippocampal slice. J Neurosci 27:9763




  • 2021-2023      NeuroCure Postdoctoral Fellowship for Female Neuroscientists, awarded by NeuroCure Cluster for Excellence, Berlin, Germany
  • 2023-2026      Independent Research Project; “Specific mechanisms of neurotransmission in excitatory and inhibitory synapses,” (HE 7480/3-1); awarded by the Deutsches Forschungsgemeinschaft, Germany



  • 2016-2020      Independent Research Project, Principal Investigator Position; “Investigation of divergent vesicle recycling mechanisms in glutamatergic and GABAergic synapses,” (HE 7480/2-1); awarded by the Deutsches Forschungsgemeinschaft, Germany
  • 2011-2013      Postdoctoral Stipend; “Investigation of VGLUT copy number on vesicle release probability;” awarded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany
  • 2006-2010      Predoctoral Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award; “EAAT3 contribution to glutamate uptake in the hippocampus,” (F31NS057865); awarded by the National Institutes of Health, USA