Aussenansicht des ChariteCrossOvers
Aussenansicht des ChariteCrossOvers

Institute for Neurophysiology –
Cellular and Electrophysiology of the Central Nervous System

The Institute for Neurophysiology is part of the CharitéCenter for Basic Medicine (CC2). The main focus is on basic research of cellular network Physiology of the central nervous system (Nerve cells, Glial cells, Vasculature). Physiological and pathophysiological network states and mechanism are being elucidated by a combination of electrophysiolgical, molecular biological and morphological (in cooperation with the Institute of Integrative  Neuroanatomy) methods. Thereby, GABAergic Interneurons and their part in various models of neurological diseases and psychiatric ilnesses are of special interest. Please find specific information on the research pages of the insitute about latest projects and the research groups.

As of 2009 the head of the institute is Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jörg Geiger, successor of Univ.-Prof. Dr. Uwe Heinemann (1944-2016). Furthermore, the institute comprieses the Neurocure Excellence Research Group of Univ.-Prof. Dr, Christian Rosenmund and the Emmy-Noether Group (DFG) of Dr. David Owald.

The key information on the research groups, guest scientitst, cooperations and individual scientitst at the institute are to be found on the page Research.

The institute is substantially engaged in teaching, participating un the study of human medicine (model study) and dental medicine (regular study) at the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Please find further information thereof on the pages of Studies.

The Network of Physiology at the Charité

The entire Physiology as a basic science subject is being represented by the Institute for Neurophysiology, Institute for Physiology and Institute for Vegetative Physiology. For further information please look below.

Aussenansicht des ChariteCrossOvers
Aussenansicht des ChariteCrossOvers

Institut für Neurophysiologie –
Zell- und Elektrophysiologie im Zentralnervensystem

Das Institut für Neurophysiologie ist Teil des Charité-Centrums für Grundlagenmedizin (CC2). Es hat seinen Schwerpunkt in der Grundlagenforschung der zellulären (Nervenzellen, Gliazellen, Gefäßzellen) und Netzwerk-Physiologie des zentralen Nervensystems verschiedener Spezies. Mit elektrophysiologischen, farbstoffbasierten, morphologischen (in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Neuroanatomie) und molekularbiologischen Methoden werden sowohl physiologische als auch pathophysiologische Zell- und Netzwerk-Zustände und Mechanismen untersucht. Im Fokus der Arbeit stehen unter anderem GABAerge Interneurone und deren Rolle in verschiedenen Modellen neurologischer und psychiatrischer Erkrankungen. Informieren Sie sich auf den Seiten der Forschung zu den aktuellen Projekten und Arbeitsgruppen.

Geleitet wird das Institut seit 2009 von Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jörg Geiger, Nachfolger von Direktor Univ.-Prof. Dr. Uwe Heinemann (1991 - 2009). Komplettiert wird das Institut für Neurophysiologie unter anderem durch die Neurocure-Exzellenzcluster-Arbeitsgruppe von Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christian Rosenmund und die Emmy-Noether-Gruppe (DFG) von Dr. David Owald.

Die wichtigsten Informationen zu den Projektgruppen, Gastwissenschaftlern, Kooperationspartnern und am Institut forschenden Einzelwissenschaftlern finden Sie über die Seite ‚Forschung‘.

Das Institut für Neurophysiologie beteiligt sich außerdem maßgeblich im Bereich der Lehre, vor allem in den Studiengängen Humanmedizin (Modellstudiengang) und Zahnmedizin (Regelstudiengang) der Charité-Universitätsmedizin. Hierzu können Sie sich auf den Seiten ‚Studium und Lehre‘ informieren.

Fächerverbund Physiologie an der Charité

Die gesamte Physiologie als Grundlagenfach wird repräsentiert durch die Institute für Neurophysiologie, für Physiologie und für Vegetative Physiologie, dazu siehe ‚Weitere Institute im Fächerverbund Physiologie der Charité‘ weiter unten.